So long, farewell, auf Wiedersehen, good night

Hello blog fans!  Welcome to the latest edition of Chris Lackie – The Blog!

So how about those Olympics?  Those Canadians did pretty well, eh?  In addition to all the ass kicking the individual competitors did, our teams dropped a Hulk Hogan-sized leg drop on all the other nations.  Both the men’s and women’s curling teams proved they are the best in the world at throwing rocks down a sheet of ice.  Our hockey teams also showed those Americans who’s the boss (and I’m not talking about Angela).  First the women came back from a 2-goal deficit with only 4 minutes left in the game to win in overtime, and then the men shut out their cross-border rivals 1-0 to move on to the gold medal game.  Then Canada played Sweden, and we all know how that turned out (Canada won! Can-a-da!  Can-a-da!)

All in all, I’d say we have a lot to be proud of.

Now on to business.

I made my very first post on this blog on February 20, 2013 and I’ve been posting on a pretty regular basis ever since.  That’s a whole year of giving you, my loyal reader, thrills, chills, and a plethora of examples of literary skillz (tip: replacing the s at the end of a word with a z makes it hip). 

Let’s just take a moment to reflect on all the awesome things I have written over the past year.

*moment*

Ahh.  Wasn’t that a great moment?  Wait, what?  What do you mean you don’t remember all of the excellent posts I’ve made?  I am offended, sirs (and madams).  Well, how about I refresh your clearly failing memory on some of my more… let us call them… creative posts?

I told you guys about that time I was abducted by aliens and then I ripped a hole in their spaceship with a gigantic fart.

Then there was that time that me and my Grandpa kicked some ninja fools in their stupid fool faces.

I used some of the skillz I learned fighting ninjas to deal with the militant feminists that kidnapped me behind a department store. (Two parts!)

There was also that time that I found myself in an underground push up competition in Antwerp, Belgium.

Most recently, I took on a nest of vampires in the most beautiful of places, Oshawa, Ontario. (Two parts!)

And of course, there was the wonder of Funko Fight Club.

Why am I taking you on this trip down memory lane?

Well, it saddens me to say that Chris Lackie – The Blog will be going on a short hiatus.  It’s time for me to take a little break and recharge the old brain battery.  With the addition of the little bundle of joy in my life, I find myself with less time to sit down and write.  I think it would be best to take a break and let some of the creative juices come out on their own, instead of trying to force things.

Writing this blog is one of the most rewarding things I’ve ever done.  It pleases me to no end that over the past year people from 60 different countries have visited my little piece of the internet more than 3,000 times.  You will never know how grateful I am that you all take time out of your busy lives to read my words.

So there it is.  I know you’re sad.  Try not to cry. I will be back, bigger and better than ever (or more likely, about the same as ever).

TEMPORARY LEAVE OF ABSENCE BAMPF!!     

Leave a Reply

