Happy Family Day!

I’d like to wish a Happy Family Day (also known as a completely made up holiday) to everyone who is lucky enough to have today off of work.  I hope you had an opportunity to spend some extra time with your loved ones today.  I know I did.  I even took some pictures.  Would you like to see them?

IMG_2943

Adorable, aren’t they?  That’s Captain Kirk, Spock and a generic Klingon.  I know what you’re thinking:  That’s no Klingon!  Where’s his forehead ridges?  The original Star Trek Klingons didn’t have forehead ridges.  Boom.  There, I just educated you on some Trek. 

In addition to the Star Trek figures, I picked up another little guy.  Ladies and gentlemen, I give you bobblehead Deadpool!

IMG_2942

Isn’t he the coolest?  Look at his little gun and his little big-boy sword.  Now, I’m not normally a fan of bobbleheads, but this guy was just way too cute to pass up.  The downside is, now that I have a bunch of regular figures and one random bobblehead, my obsessive compulsive disorder (my own personal diagnosis) has kicked in and now it bothers me that I only have the one bobblehead.  If I was smart, I would have picked Deadpool up when he was originally released.  That way, I could have also acquired the really cool looking Ghost Rider bobblehead that was released at the same time. Oh well.  Part of the fun of collecting things is the thrill of the hunt.

Anyway, have you been enjoying the Olympics?  I just finished watching Canada’s women’s hockey team beat a surprisingly competitive Switzerland team in the semi-finals.  Hopefully Team Canada can take this momentum and beat the Americans in the gold medal game. 

Question:  Who thought that two-man luge was a good idea?  Did some luger just think one day:  You know what would make this better?  Having another person on top of me while I do it.  Or maybe it started as some sort of kinky sex thing.  Yeah, that’s probably what happened.

Previously I mentioned that I enjoy watching short-track speed skating.  After watching a bunch of it this past week I think I may like it even more now.  Watching people slip and crash into the boards is incredibly entertaining.  Is it bad that I like watching people fall and hurt themselves?  Probably.   

Alright, that’s it for this week.  Maybe next time I’ll talk about other sports that started as risqué sex acts prior to becoming Olympic events (Greco-Roman wrestling, anyone?).

BAMPF!

Leave a Reply

