A great-grandson meets his great-grandfather, a man reads some comic books, and then that same man buys some toys

Hello friends!  How are things?  Good?  That’s super, I’m glad I asked.  Is something different about me?  Did I cut my hair?  No, but it did grow some.  That’s probably what you noticed.

Things have been pretty good for me lately.  This past weekend my wife and I took our son to meet my side of the family.  The little guy got to meet a grandma, a grandpa, an aunt, two great aunts, a great uncle and his first cousin (I think… I don’t know how cousins work).  What did we all do, you ask?  Why, we watched Sharknado, of course.  Finally, a movie the whole family can enjoy.  And if that wasn’t cool enough, our baby boy got to meet his great grandpa.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen my son so happy.  He smiled the entire time his great grandfather held him and he even giggled a little bit.  The two of them looked adorable together.  Do you want to see a picture?  Of course you do.

grandpa

In addition to all the family fun, I got to do something that I haven’t been able to do as much since my wonderful son was born.  I am of course referring to reading a butt load of comics.  I managed to get through Buffy the Vampire Slayer – Season 9: volumes 3 and 4, as well as the Marvel event comic Avengers Vs. X-Men.

It’s been a while since I read the first two volumes of Buffy Season 9 (and even longer since I read Season 8), so I was happy to get back into the Buffyverse.  Season 9 is a little more grounded than the crazy, anything-can-happen Season 8 (in which Buffy and Angel have sex and literally create another universe… or something like that) and I think it makes for better comics.  In volume 3 (called Grounded), Buffy works as a personal security guard and fights a giant tentacle monster (which is pretty much all you need to know) and this is followed by a charming story of a young gay man who trains to became a male slayer (which, if you know the history of the slayers, is something that doesn’t happen). In volume 4 (called Welcome to the Team), Buffy has to fight a slayer-turned-vampire (which is an awesome idea) and deal with a big bad who sucks energy from supernatural beings.  Also, one of the original scoobies goes rogue.  It’s a dark time.

Overall, these Buffy books are awesome.  Pure awesome.  If you liked the show you owe it to yourself to read these books.

As I mentioned, I finally got around to reading Avengers Vs. X-Men.  As far as so-called event comics go it was pretty good.  This limited series utilized numerous artists and writers over the entire 13-issue run.  Now normally that sort of thing would bug me a lot.  I hate when different artists work on the same story.  I always feel it breaks up the storytelling.  And having different writers work on the same story is a pain because everyone has their own style and sometimes the styles don’t work together.  All that said, I think all the art and the writing style work well enough together that if you weren’t paying attention, you may think that the same creative team worked on every issue.

If you like event comics you’ll probably like this one.  I liked it because (spoilers) it has not just one person with the power of the phoenix, but five of them!  If that doesn’t get you going, I don’t know what will.  Also, this book is way better than Age of Ultron, which was a waste of time to say the least.

In other news, I recently picked up some new Funko Pop Vinyl Figures.  First, I picked up this awesome Christian Bale Batman figure.

bale

If you’re keeping count, I now have 4 different Batman Funko figures.  It’s a real crisis of the infinite Batmen in my house.

And in what may be the greatest purchase I have ever made, I finally picked up New Jersey’s most popular drug dealers.

jaybob

It’s Jay and Silent Bob!  Snootch to the nooch, am I right?

With these new characters the next Funko Fight Club is shaping up to be a doozy.  It’s going to be awesome.  Whenever it ends up happening.

So that pretty much sums up what’s going on in my life right now.

Oh I almost forgot.  While visiting my family I went for a walk and kicked a vampire in the nards.  But more on that later.

BAMPF!

One thought on “A great-grandson meets his great-grandfather, a man reads some comic books, and then that same man buys some toys

  1. Pingback: There’s something lurking in Oshawa | Chris Lackie - The Blog

Leave a Reply

