Have you seen my sweet beard?

So, I am not a dad yet, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t already started to prepare.  In honour of my upcoming fatherhood I decided to grow a sweet dad-beard.  Have you seen it yet?  Check it!

Picture0037

Boom.

Move over Abe Lincoln, your beard is so four score and seven years ago.  That was some timely humour right there.  Booya!

Our baby was due this past Sunday, which means we are in the overtime period of life without children.  To make the most of it, we decided to watch kids kill each other in a dystopian world where the youth are forced to battle to the death for the amusement of the masses.  After finishing A Charlie Brown Christmas, we went to go see the Hunger Games: Catching Fire.

I remember when I saw the first Hunger Games, I was struck by how jarring it was to watch children viciously attack each other. This one doesn’t have that, but it does have a fair bit of (strangely misplaced) humour and what can best be described as a relatively lacklustre climax.  That said, it’s still a pretty entertaining movie (especially for a middle act) due in large part to its strong cast.  I really enjoyed the performances of Stanley Tucci, Elizabeth Banks and, of course, Jennifer Lawrence.  How can any man not be a fan of Mystique?  Don’t worry guys; she’s 23, so it’s okay to have a crush on her… I think.  Anyway, if you liked the first Hunger Games, you will probably like this one.  Or maybe not.  What do I know?

Switching gears from killing people for entertainment and keeping poor people afraid (frowny face) to vinyl toys (happy face) I have recently picked up some new Funko Pop Vinyl Figures for my collection.  Check them out!

IMG_2743

Here we have a Harley Quinn and a Batman Beyond (I realize that Batman Beyond is the title of a TV show and that this character is just Batman, but that’s what Funko decided to call the figure) bookended by two Heath Ledger-based Jokers. These guys are cool, but check out my favourite acquisition:

IMG_2748

That’s an Adam West Batman in an old-school Batmobile.  Cool, right?

With all these new figures I now have in my possession, I can smell another Funko Fight Club coming up.  Maybe it’ll happen once I get my hands on this guy:

judge dredd

Or maybe these guys:

Jay-Pop-Vinyl-FigureSilent-Bob-Pop-Vinyl-Figure

Snoogins, am I right?

Either way, there will probably be a Funko Fight Club in the near future (because it is fun and I have very few original ideas).

Well I think that wraps things up for this week.  For the sake of my wife, I hope that the next time I write I will have a little bundle of joy to talk about.

BAMPF!

Leave a Reply

