The End…?

Wasn’t last week’s post interesting?  No, you don’t think so?  Well, you’re right, and here’s why:

Last week, I ran into a bit of a problem.  I suffered from a writer’s most feared malady.  No, not alcoholism.  Writer’s block.  Like Tom Cruise said in Cast Away:  Houston, I have a conundrum.

After staring for what seemed like hours at my Word document, which was completely blank except for the blinking cursor that seemed to be taunting me (loser… loser… loser), I got the idea that maybe I could count on the hardcore fans of Chris Lackie – The Blog to send me emails so I would have something to write about.  Unfortunately, the inbox at chrislackietheblog@gmail.com was completely empty (except for a very credible email claiming to be able to give me “free access to local sluts”).  When there were no emails for me to respond to/make fun of I tried to think of something else to fill up some blog space.  But as you all saw, I failed.  It made me feel very emotional.  So much so, I decided to draw a picture to visualize how I felt.

emotional

I’ve posted to my blog every week since February (sometimes even more than once!), but after a while it’s hard to think of new things to write about.  I mean, I know I’m not writing about anything too deep or meaningful, but c’mon… I’m just one man.

I took some time over the past week to consider the future of Chris Lackie – The Blog.  For your viewing pleasure, here are some photos of me deep in thought.

photosnotavailable

Oh, I guess the camera wasn’t working.  Darn.  That’s too bad.  I was looking really good.

Anyway, after so much deep reflection (which I totally did), I realized two things.  First, I need to lose some weight (I was exhausted after all that thinking), and second, my problem last week wasn’t that I didn’t have anything to say, it’s that I was trying to say something that I thought would be interesting to the masses.

Basically, I was trying to capture the Funko Fight Club lightning in a bottle again.

But it occurred to me that I got lucky with Funko Fight Club.  I stumbled upon something that both I and numerous others find interesting.  In order to continue with that sort of success, I would need to keep writing about topics that everyone can get engaged in.  And frankly, given my interests, it’s unrealistic to assume that people are always going to get as excited about Batman and the like as I am.  But what is the point of having a blog unless you’re going to write about things that you yourself are interested in?

Chris Lackie – The Blog is going to continue to be about things I want to write about.  And I’m going to write about whatever tickles my fancy that week.  Are you going to like everything I write about?  Probably not, but you should, because everything I write about is awesome.

I know what you’re thinking:  Chris, these last two posts of yours haven’t been about anything.  They’re basically a thousand words of nothing.  Well, Seinfeld was a show about nothing, and look at all the good that came from that (like The Michael Richards Show)!  Anyway, like I said, you’re not going to think every post is a first round pick.

Chris Lackie – The Blog is like a box of chocolates.  You never know what you’re going to get.

Another Tom Cruise reference!  I am crushing it!

TOM CRUISE BAMPF!

***************************************************************************

BONUS:

CHRIS LACKIE – THE BLOG EXCLUSIVE!!!!!

Okay, I know the last two posts haven’t been great, so here is a little bonus to make up for it.

Today, on my way home from work, I went in to EB Games to pre-order the upcoming Batman: Arkham Origins game (so I can play as Deathstroke and get exclusive Black Mask challenge maps!) and I stumbled upon something I didn’t know I wanted until I saw it.  Would you like to see my impulse buy?

joker 1

It’s the Joker from the beginning of The Dark Knight!  Isn’t he adorable?  Yet another Funko Pop Vinyl Figure to add to my collection.  For anyone who is keeping track, that brings the total number of Funko figures in my collection to 22.  Perhaps you think that is too many Funko figures for a grown man to own?  Well, you’re probably right, but after my kid is born, I plan on telling everyone that all the figures belong to him.  Of course, he won’t be allowed to touch them until he’s older (like, 25) but still… they’ll be his.  In theory.

Pre-ordering the new Batman game and getting a sweet new Funko Pop Vinyl Figure?  Best.  Monday.  Ever.

AWESOME MONDAY BAMPF!

Leave a Reply

