Funko Fight Club

Anyone who knows me (which should be all of you by now) knows that I am not a toy collector.  I’ve never seen the appeal of it.  I especially don’t understand collecting toys and not taking them out of their packaging.  I mean, what’s the point of buying all those fun things if you’re not going to play with them?  While I don’t get why someone would spend all that money on toys (it is my understanding that it costs a lot of money to build a toy collection), I would never think any less of someone who decided to make it their hobby.  Of course, they would be much cooler if they collected comics, but not everyone’s perfect.

Even though I have almost no desire to buy any toy, there is a certain type of toy that I am obsessed with.  Although I hesitate to use the word toy… figure is probably a better word to describe them  (no, not an action figure… those are for children).  I am of course referring to the incredibly adorable Funko Vinyl Figures.  I love these stupid things.  I started out with just a Batman and a Robin for my desk at work, but now I have a bunch of them.  Here are a couple pictures of my collection.

IMG_2458

IMG_2472

As you can see, I have 20 of these little guys in all, with most of them living in my office at work, and the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles figures living at my house.  Whenever I’m trying to get inspired, either at work or at home, I like to look at them and let my imagine run wild.  Do they have feelings?  Do they have souls?  Do they move around and talk to each other when I’m not around?  Of course not, but I like to pretend they do. 

Now a lot of these figures are mortal enemies, which makes me wonder… if they were sprinkled with fairy dust and came to life for one night (or if I took some angel dust and thought they came to life for one night), who would win in an all-out, no-holds-barred battle royale?

I thought that it would be fun if we answered that question together!  For the next little while, Chris Lackie – The Blog will be home to the Funko Fight Club!  I’ve separated 16 of my figures into two categories:  DC Comics and Movies.  There are 8 characters in each category who will battle it out, single knock-out style!  There are no fixed brackets (other than keeping the DC Comics and Movie characters separate until the finals).  That way, I can arrange the matchups to be as interesting as possible.

How will the winners of each battle be determined?  That’s where you come in!  Starting tomorrow, I’ll set up a poll for each fight, and the character with the most votes by a certain time will move on to the next round.  In the case of a tie, the character I voted for will win (I am the boss, after all).  Feel free to vote on any basis you want.  You can vote based on fighting ability, coolness, whatever.  I’m going to imagine the little figures actually fighting each other, and choose the winners based on who I think would win such an adorable battle.  Tee hee!  So cute!

So get ready everyone.  Starting tomorrow, the Funko Fight Club begins!

FUNKO BAMPF!

10 thoughts on “Funko Fight Club

  1. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: DC Comics Bracket Quarter-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  2. Pingback: RESULTS – Funko Fight Club: DC Comics Bracket Quarter-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  3. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: Movie Bracket Quarter-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  4. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: DC Comics Bracket Semi-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  5. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: Movies Bracket Semi-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  6. Pingback: RESULTS – Funko Fight Club: Movies Bracket Semi-Finals | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  7. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: The Final Four | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  8. Pingback: Funko Fight Club: The Finals! | Chris Lackie - The Blog

  9. Pingback: The End…? | Chris Lackie - The Blog

Leave a Reply

