Ottawa Comiccon 2013!

This past weekend was the 2013 Ottawa Comiccon.  If you have ever read my blog before, you’ll know that I love me some comics.  Last year was the first edition of the Ottawa Comiccon and was the first time I went to one of these things.  Last year I only went for one day and regretted it afterwards.  This time I splurged and got myself a weekend pass so I could absorb as much nerdy goodness as is humanly possible.

IMG_2365

I spent the first day of the Con with my brother-in-law.  I dragged him around artist alley so I could meet Mike Grell and Chris Claremont.  They have both done a great many things in the world of funny books, but I know Mike Grell best from his work on Green Arrow and Chris Claremont is arguably one of, if not the best, X-Men writers of all time.  I managed to get a few autographs from both of them.  I asked Mike Grell to sign my copy of the The Longbow Hunters and asked Chris Claremont to sign a bunch of X-Men stuff.  They both worked on an X-Men Forever one-shot that I have, so I asked them both to sign that one.

IMG_2371

After our adventures in artist alley, we went to the Star Wars exhibit set up by the Capital City Garrison.  Here’s a picture of me in the exhibit.

IMG_2311

That’s me frozen in the carbonite.  I don’t know who the guy with the red eyes is.

Anywho, after evading the imperial troops, we headed over to the big hall to watch the Billy Dee Williams Q and A session, and followed it up with the Kevin Sorbo panel.  I love Billy Dee Williams, but Kevin Sorbo was the highlight of the night for me.  He told some great stories and made some great jokes during his time on the stage.  He tore a strip off of the business of Hollywood and delivered some good natured ribbing towards some of the people he has worked with over the years.  I was having some serious camera issues all weekend, so here are the “best” photos I have of Billy Dee Williams and Kevin Sorbo on stage.

IMG_2317 IMG_2324

That Sorbo guy has a great head of hair!   

After the panels, we wandered around the convention floor and looked for deals on comic books.  My brother-in-law found the Age of Apocalypse Omnibus Hardcover for 40% off of the U.S. price.  It was such a great deal, I stole it from him.

IMG_2374

We finished the first day of the Con with a little Adult Origami.  I would share a picture of the naughty things we made out of pieces of paper, but that would be inappropriate.  Also, the balls on the penis I made were inverted, so it doesn’t look right.  The boobies turned out ok, though.

The second day of the Con was spent with some local friends.  We started the day with two Q and A panels. The first was the Firefly panel with Jewel Staite and Nathan Fillion.  Summer Glau was also supposed to appear, but apparently she lost her passport and couldn’t make it.  She put a little video up on YouTube, apologizing for not making it and she also Skyped into the panel to apologize again and talk with Jewel and Nathan.  This was probably my favourite panel of the weekend.  Jewel and Nathan had great chemistry and probably could have carried the whole thing themselves without going to the audience for questions.  Nathan told a great story about his friend’s mother, a gynecologist and some spray glitter.  It was a good time.

After the panel let out, we immediately went back into the room for the Felicia Day panel.  It seemed like most of the discussion was about The Guild (which I have seen very little of) and Geek and Sundry (which I know nothing about), so it didn’t really keep my interest.  Everyone else seemed to really like it though.

We wandered around the convention floor some more and took a look at some of the art in artist’s alley.  I decided to get a print of a Moon Knight cover made by Arthur Suydam, the Zombie King.  Here it is:

IMG_2368

Pretty, right?

I also decided to splurge and get myself an autograph from Nathan Fillion.  It was (very) pricey, but I got to meet him (and his brother!) and shake his (broken) hand, so I think it was worth it.

IMG_2359

I spent the third day of the Con by myself.   I started the day at the Gillian Anderson panel.  All the big panels had their lines outside, but with the cold Ottawa air (yup, beautiful all week then freezing Sunday morning) they decided to let people into the hall to wait for the Q and A to start.  This ultimately led to a bit of a problem.  The problem started with the fact that there were essentially two tiers of seating:  Regular (which included yours truly) and VIP.  Of course, a lot of the VIP seating remained empty leading up to the start of the panel since not all VIPs chose to attend the event.  At some point, a group of regular ticket holders decided that they could move up to the VIP seats and this led to a mad rush of people trying to take the remaining VIP seats.  The volunteers and security had to rush in and stop the normies from taking the elite seats and this caused a fair bit of confusion.  Luckily, everyone seemed to settle down and ultimately everyone found themselves a seat. 

The session was pretty good, but the highlight was probably Gillian Anderson talking about what she would do if she was having coffee with David Duchovny and the world was ending.  Basically, she thought they would end up having sex right there on the table.  It was what everyone in the room wanted to hear.  Everyone wants Mulder and Scully to hook up in the end.   

Here’s a picture of Gillian Anderson on stage.  It’s a terrible picture, so you’ll have to take my word for it that it’s her.

IMG_2344

After the panel, I headed over to the autograph area to get Jewel Staite to sign my copy of Serenity.

IMG_2358

She called me “love”.  I’m thinking we’ll have a Spring wedding…

Then I bought myself some Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle t-shirts.  Here’s one of them:

IMG_2361

I also bought my wife a shirt:

IMG_2363

The downside to buying these shirts was that I had to use my credit card and all card purchases at this vendor were in U.S. dollars.  Stupid foreign exchange.

Anyway, after spending more of my money I went over to the smaller panel rooms to see Ty Templeton (an artist I believe) interview Mike Grell and Chris Claremont.  Did you know that Mike Grell is into jousting?  Then I stuck around to listen to Neal Adams (another well known artist) answer some fan questions.  Between these two panels, Claremont and Adams had a conversation in the hallway.

IMG_2352

Again, I was having camera issues, so you’ll have to believe me that it was them.

The last thing I did at this year’s edition of the Ottawa Comiccon was sit in on a panel where they discussed creating science fiction serials on the cheap.  They showed a short film called Jet Ranger of Another Tomorrow.  It was a cute little movie that is all the more impressive given how little it cost them to make it.  You can check out their website here:

http://jetranger.the-back-row.com/

And that was Ottawa Comiccon 2013.  I had a great time and am already excited for next year.

Now, I know what a lot of you are thinking: 

Chris, why would you spend three days and hundreds of dollars on this stuff? 

The answer is simple:

I fucking love this shit.

Reading comics, going to conventions, meeting writers and artists, buying overpriced t-shirts (and getting burned by the U.S. conversion on credit card purchases, gah!) and paying way, way too much money to have a celebrity most people have never heard of autograph a DVD case makes me happy.  So I’m going to keep doing it.

Unless my wife tells me to stop.  She’s pretty much the boss of me.

Ottawa Comiccon BAMPF!

3 thoughts on “Ottawa Comiccon 2013!

  1. This got me all fired up for Anime North. Hubby and I have weekend passes, a hotel room, and costumes… Do you ever cosplay? And why doesn’t the boss come with?

    • No, I don’t cosplay. No one wants to see me in spandex. The boss went last year, but decided not to come this year. She’s not a huge fan of this stuff, and she really hates big crowds.

  2. Pingback: LAST WEEK on the ‘net: May 13 – 19 2013 | Ty Templeton's ART LAND!!

Leave a Reply

